Archive | September 18, 2011

TOW: Analog vs. Digital, Which is Worse? (Tips for Blogging)

Digital is worse.

Alright, first of all: that’s not true. Second of all: it’s not a question of which one is better or worse, they are just different. ¬†I don’t know if there was a question, but I gave an answer.

Let me show you the differences between writing for analog and digital media by explaining 10 do’s and dont’s for writing for online reading and tips for “blogging.”

#10. “Don’t” Use the N-word.

You’ll get in trouble…and it’s not nice.

#9. “Do” Keep posts short.

If you’re making a post make it short. Keep sentences short.

Keep paragraphs brief.

#8. “Don’t” Be redundant.

It’s not cool. It’s not stylish. It distorts your point, like a rounded square.

#7. “Do” Be clear.

When you ramble and ramble your audience might lose the information that you are trying to display, it’s like the theory of special relativity (Einstein, I think), displays how things can be perceived differently by different people and something that makes sense to you might not make any tomatoes to anyone else.

#6. “Don’t” Use run-on sentences.

Run-on sentences, as funny as they may be, are difficult to read.

#5. “Don’t” Use large pretentious words.

They are obnoxious. I don’t know if that’s me trying to be pretentious or if I was being obnoxious in my facetious facade.

#4. “Don’t” Use annoying alliteration.

Is it bad that I’m coming up with these rules as I’m breaking them?

#3. “Don’t” Ask questions.

Make statements. Readers don’t want you to ask their opinion, they want to hear yours. If they have something to say they will leave a comment.

#2. “Do” Have enough to say for an entire post.

Well…those are my ten tips for blogging I hope this was helpful, but not too helpful. ¬†Sometimes you have to figure things out on your own…it builds character.

See ya later.

